Two URL's for SD - controls forum format

Completely off-topic conversational diarrhea that the rest of the internet won't let you post anywhere because it's so pointless and irrelevant to anything important.
Post Reply
User avatar
Jackie
Lonely Lamer
Posts: 164
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2011 6:36 pm

Two URL's for SD - controls forum format

Post by Jackie » Mon May 02, 2011 5:41 pm

I just discovered something interesting. It's a trick that might come in handy. Remember when I talked about the strange variable width of the forum? I mentioned this issue in the thread of social deviancy's improvement points.

While I was lurking around for interesting topics, I noticed that whenever Venomous links to a certain topic, the page always shows properly: the website is automatically adjusted to match the browsers width, so the text never runs of the screen, and uses the maximum screen estate as well. Normally I always get to see the yellow links of the home page on the left.

Also, the URL's of the various pages Venomous linked in his posts are different. Let me show you what I mean.


This is how I normally view the forum index:
http://img801.imageshack.us/img801/610/socdevcgi.png

This is what I usually get to see when reading topics:
http://img199.imageshack.us/img199/5370 ... topics.png

Now, look what the forum index does when you use Venomous' URL:
http://img8.imageshack.us/img8/963/socdevphpindex.png

If you browse and read topics from that page, the URL changes again:
http://img25.imageshack.us/img25/7373/s ... topics.png



So, to clarify, there are essentially two URL's you can use to view Social Deviancy. To be specific;

We have this URL: (the one I always used)
http://www.socialdeviancy.com/cgi-bin/getpage.cgi?forum

And we have this one... (the one Venomous uses, apparently)
http://forum.socialdeviancy.com/index.php

...which automatically changes to the following when viewing threads:
http://forum.socialdeviancy.com/viewforum.php?f=3


This might be useful to know. In my opinion the URL with PHP is far better because it's more practical, except the home page doesn't seem to have a PHP version.

User avatar
Venomous
Site Admin
Posts: 1572
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2005 6:00 pm
Location: Social Deviancy
Contact:

Post by Venomous » Mon May 09, 2011 3:59 pm

I see you've discovered my most well-kept secret... I guess I'll have to shut down the site now, I have nothing left to live for. =)

Put simply, the getpage.cgi script loads pages into the frameset. That way you always have a handy navbar at the left, and my banner (which you may not want to see but I want to be seen! =P) stays at the top.

If you load just the forum page directly though (forum.socialdeviancy.com) then the frameset won't appear. And any navigation you do from there will also be "full screen" in your browser window, without the navbar or ad banner.

The same can be done with the chat applet (chat.socialdeviancy.com), but everything else gets loaded by getpage.cgi only, so the Graffiti Wall, QuoteDB, etc. will all always appear in the full website frameset - the way it's supposed to look.

Though, if you're only here for the forum and nothing else, feel free to use the direct forum link that you've discovered. It gives you that extra viewing space, and since you're not planning on navigating to anywhere else on the site, or clicking any of my ad banners for me, the frameset is only wasted space for you. =)
- Venomous -

The internet is a tool, and so are most of the people who use it...

Social Deviancy

User avatar
Jackie
Lonely Lamer
Posts: 164
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2011 6:36 pm

Post by Jackie » Mon May 09, 2011 6:14 pm

Can't you implement the banners in the PHP pages?

Yeah, I'll admit I can really use the screen space. I don't have a widescreen, but I'm considering to get one. It seems like every website expects that you have one these days.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest